The staff was friendly and helpful. However, indeed, we usually advise clients to book restaurant before arriving at the hotel, because this period is really a peak-season for us (and for the other restaurants in the city center), and Friday and Saturday night are very busy every week. Service was excellent - multi-lingual, friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel itself is beautiful! Front desk very helpful in recommending the evening light show. I would make sure this yearly event was going on when planing my trip. We're very happy to learn that our facilities and quality of service had allowed you to spend a very pleasant and relaxing time here. Very classy lobby and bar, in keeping with the tradition of Chartres and the history of this hotel. Nous nous appliquons à multiplier les attentions à votre égard, afin que vous vous sentiez comme chez vous dans notre hôtel à Chartres. Our team speaks several languages (English, Spanish, Italian) to acomodate the best way possible your stay. The town of Chartres has many boutique shops, a covered market and is skirted by the river L'Eure. - it was also pleasingly quiet for a city centre hotel, a lof of the rooms appear to overlook an internal atrium. Parking is €10 a night. We are really satisfied that you appreciated your experience in Le Grand Monarque. rooms was a good size and well presented and staff very friendly. We hope that you will keep a great memory of this one ! It had a beautiful fireplace and views over the square. We are very glad that you appreciated our kindness and our attentions, and that you spent a lovely stay among us. We had dinner in the brasserie and a night cap in the lounge bar - both of which were just spot on. We have stayed at this hotel several times and it is always a treat. We did get to peek in several rooms being made up, and we wouldn't turn our nose up at any of those, either. The bedroom was very well equipped offering complimentary towelling slippers. We hope that you won't doubt to come back next time your road will cross our beautiful city of Chartres Have a very nice evening Best regards La réception, petematthews, West Drayton, United Kingdom, Dear Sir, What a beautiful comment ! Since the price for a Confort one (available for use of BW points) and the Family room is not the same, indeed, the additional fees concerning the category of room had been added to your bill. However we do have three places available as drop-off areas which allow our guests to reach then the reception of the hotel. Upon arrival we asked to book a meal in the restaurant, to be told there was no room , but they could squeeze us in, in a side room in comfy chairs, we agreed. grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Sir, We thank you very much for your last stay in Le Grand Monarque. It is also close to endless restaurants and shops. We highly recommend a stay at this Grand Dame in Chartres. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Indeed, the hotel is located very close to the Cathedral (10 minutes walking) and to the pedestrian center of the city of Chartres. Air conditioning and tea/coffee making facilities in room. Huge and very comfortable bed, proper china cups and glass glasses (no Mercure plastic! Booked easily some time ago using the Best Western website, our premium room was large, very well furnished and very comfortable - facing the Place des Epars, but quiet for all that. Our room was pleasant, reasonably sized, clean and decorated in suitably period style with a good bathroom . We wish you a very beautiful day and we hope to welcome you again next time you will come in Chartres Best regards La réception, Dear Madam, Thank you for this very pleasant feeback ! No real alternative so do factor that in. I picked this hotel based on the reviews and photos on trip advisor, and without shopping around. grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Sir, Thank you for having selected our sweet home for your stay in Chartres. It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and we are glad that you were sensitive to the kindness and attentions of our team (including our English facilities) :) We remain at your entire disposal and we hope to see you again very soon Have a very nice day Best regards La réception, Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We are very glad that your family stay was such a good time and we hope that you also appreciated the famous light show that our beautiful city offers us every night at this period :) We thank you very much again for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with the web users. Your satisfaction is also our. Le Best Western Premier Grand Monarque vous accueille au centre-ville, à seulement 5 minutes à pied de la cathédrale, classée au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO. They were quite helpful. It proved to be an outstanding meal. Guests under 16 years old are not allowed in the spa. The hotel is located at the heart of Chartres and only a short walk from its famous cathedral. Otherwise you have the Brasserie which is good too. We thank you again and wish you a very pleasant day Best regards La réception. We wish you a pleasant week-end and we hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again in our sweet home. Staff is cheerful and very helpful. Really charming attic style with toile de jouy walls and chic modern bathroom. Short walk into the centre of Chartres. It was such a shame we didn't have longer there. This was my second visit to this hotel while en route to the south of France and I love staying here. Room at first offered was tiny and hot in the roof and the impression I had was this was the 'Booking .com' allocation, when we asked for another room although previously told the hotel was empty we were shown an old room again at the roof level in old decor. The staff at reception were exceptionally nice. Attentifs aux moindres détails, ils sont entièrement à votre service. Breakfast was perfectly good. The room looks like one belonging to an aristocrat (the theme of the hotel, no?) We wish you a very pleasant day Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you again so that you can fully discover our beautiful city. We have always enjoyed our stays here in the past, but never again. We stayed here for one night on our French road trip. We weren't aware that we had to book car parking in advance (does anyone arrive in Chartres WITHOUT needing car parking??) Extra room amenities like coffee and water made the stay convenient. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. Best Western Grand Monarque. Rooms are pretty charming, a bit old-fashioned in style, but full of atmosphere, as is the entire place. Have a lovely day Best regards La réception. I broke my ankle prior to the trip and asked the hotel for a room with a separate shower. We always make a point of stopping off at this Grand old Duchess of a hotel on our travels from the south to the north. Best Western Grand Monarque, Chartres: Se 1.427 anmeldelser fra rejsende, 493 billeder og gode tilbud vedr. *****, grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you very much for sharing this nice comment with the web users and also for sharing your stay in Chartres with us in Le Grand Monarque. just skirt the edge when streets steepen. I would however stay here again if passing by Chartres as the food was out of this world! Rooms may be a little like a rabbit warren but that does not distract from the comfortable beds, xcellent service and quality breakfasts. However, the light show on the Cathedral itself was beautiful and quite moving. Really lovely hotel. It was just a one night stop and we were spoilt. Very good value. The room had an air condition unit that we could control which made it quite comfortable. As you mentionned it, the location of the establishment is ideal to visit peacefully our nice city. Staff helpful and facilities all very good. We also finished the evenings with drinks in the outdoor seating area of the Madrigal Lounge whilst enjoying the light show on the neighbouring buildings and the lovely fountains in the square opposite the hotel. There's a bar attached that had a very upscale feel to it. Air con worked very well indeed. Nice cosy bar with generous pour on the drinks, though a bit pricey. We hope that you will have the opportunity to taste the french cuisine of our Chef. We're very happy to know that your first experience in Le Grand Monarque was positiv and that you keep a great memory of your overnight family stay. We would definitely stay again when in Chartres. This is a very good hotel in the heart of Chartes. However, the welcome we received was very professional and friendly and the staff all spoke very good English. The city centre, carfree, allows a leisurely stroll, with lots of small boutiques and terraces. Good quality hotel with cosy bar, brasserie and Michelin restautant. grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you so much for choosing Le Grand Monarque for your short trip in Chartres ! Thank you very much for sharing your experience toward the TripAdvisor community. Best Western welcomes you to the Premier life. The hotel is like a second home with various different rooms and suites all decorated differently with the upmost style and colours, we always book a prestige room and have never been disappointed. Everything about this hotel was perfect. Advice on wine and other drinks was given without any pressure to up the cost too much. The most recent visit was a dozen years ago. Same ultra high quality, fresh unlimited superb food, silver service layout cut glass crystal glasses, but done with French style and panache! 1970 pink and dated bath shower combo. I was told you can take trailers into park, which I did, but beware as when I went back to get the car the next day I was told you can't park with trailers! Several others have raved about the breakfast, and we would have to heartily agree. For your next stay, please note that the hotel has a private and secured parking, on booking at 10 euros per night including a valet parking service. Our room was enormous and more like a suite with a lounge area which was perfect for our 11 year old to sleep in later whilst we had the biggest bed ever seen with a beautiful bathroom, complete with plush robes and upmarket toiletries. The bed was super-comfortable. We all remain at your disposal and be sure that your satisfaction is our priority Have a beautiful week Best regards La réception, Dear Madam, It was a pleasure to welcome you for this short stay in Chartres :) We're really glad that our different services had managed to offer you a very pleasant moment in our sweet home. Best regards La réception, Dear Madam, Dear Sir, What a positiv feedback ! Only issue was bath plug. grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Sir, Thank you very much for this feedback. Do a YouTube search for "Chartres Cathedral documentary." I am glad you enjoyed our hotel. Everywhere is in walking distance, there are plenty of places to eat and drink, it is a lovely city. We found it a great choice for Chartres. positive excellent hotel with wonderful, helpful staff. We wish you a pleasant week-end and we hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again in our sweet home. It's with a big pleasure that we discover you spent a very pleasant time here and that you felt at ease thanks to the kindness and to the attentions of our team members. We had cocktails at the bar/lounge that were wonderful and ate at their restaurant, which wasn't as great -- had to send my tuna back twice, and they still didn't get it right. 4. Despite the parking arrangements I would recommend this hotel. The hotel room was a family room with double bed and sofa, the room was very good and the bathroom was great, a little old fashioned but we liked it, it had character - and a Jacuzzi function in the bath... Our daughter loved this! Best Western Premier Grand Monarque Hotel & Spa is in the heart of Chartres, within a 10-minute walk of International Stained-Glass Centre and Chartres Cathedral. Proximity to the pedestrian area and cathedral is ideal. The hotel is located on a pleasant plaza just a short walk from the Cathedral and historic district. The breakfast was good though. Sure, you could say the red brocade corridor walls were a bit much, and the tiny elevator was a bit confining. Be sure also that we are working day atfer day at modernizing and renovating our establishment in order to propose the best offer and best service possible to our clients. After that, you can continue to drive for two days without hunger. Well located adjacent to historical centre, this hotel is as advertised: a quality four star hotel. Indeed, for a next stay we advise you to book the gastronomic restaurant 1-2 or even 3 weeks before your arrival date because this is our peak season and especially during the week-end, the restaurant is really requested. Great meal and the bar was a night way to finish off. A romantic stay in the heart of Chartres awaits you at Best Western Premier Grand Monarque Hotel & Spa. Parking at additional cost. Slightly more expensive than prebooked, but not unreasonable. Very nice room. First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our sweet home for your stay in Chartres. Best regards. Also no means of controlling temp or a/c within the room. Approx 5mins walk from Chartres city centre. Of course having a Michelin starred restaurant gives them a certain "je ne sais quoi" - and the food was wonderful - but they still manage to remain relaxed and friendly rather than assuming the slightly pompous air that too often comes with one of those coveted stars! Really good with excellent fresh choice. En fermant ce message ou en continuant de naviguer, vous acceptez l’utilisation des cookies. The room we stayed was tidy and clean. If you are driving, make sure you book a parking space as there is no free parking nearby and the local carparks are expensive.We didn't eat in the restaurant but it was very attractive and the food smelled great. We hope that you will come back very soon with pleasure and we invite you indeed, to taste our gourmet restaurant Le Georges that we're sure, will seduce you :) Have a wonderfull 2019 year ! Offrez-vous une escapade à Chartres ! If arriving by car, there is a 15 minute load zone in the street next to the hotel (not out the front) and they have a man (Frederick) who helps with luggage and parks the car. Easter dinner was elegant and delicious. Our room was on the third floor facing into the courtyard, decent size and beautifully decorated wth antique furniture, a large flat screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a powerful hairdryer. If the concierge is off-duty, the very spacious garage (street level, gated) is only 2 blocks away - not at all a hassle. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful! We wish we could continue to make you satisfied every year a bit more :) We are very satisfied about your feeback and glad that you enjoyed the different services proposed by our establishment. Moreover, as you explained, the parking service is on booking at 10 euros per night, and it is true that we advise clients to book in advance because of the limited number of places we have. Regarding food point, we remind you that we do have two restaurants that may satisfy your tastes : Le Georges, the gastronomic restaurant and La Cour, the brasserie of hotel. As mentionned at the bottom of your booking confirmation, our private parking is on booking because of the limited number of places we have (10 euros per night, valet parking service included). The Grand Monarque hotel & spa staff. grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Sir, Thank you very much for this very positiv comment ! All in all we had a happy, memorable stay, made so by the superb staff at the desk, restaurants, bar, cleaning the rooms and bringing the car to the front. However, our rooms were large and comfortable and the A/C worked great -- something we appreciated on a hot weekend in June. Very centrally located. Next time, indeed, do not forget to book a place for our private parking before arriving to be sure to get one available (10 euros per night) ;) Our whole team wish you a nice week Best regards La réception, Dear Sir, Our team thank you for your two nights stay spent among us. We advise you, for a next stay, to be in touch with our reception team if you have any preference for a room and some special requests such as the colour of the room, its modernity or even decoration. Do not hesitate to be in touch with our team before and during your stay to accomodate the best way possible your stay in Le Grand Monarque. The Best Western Premier® Grand Monarque Hotel & Spa is a famous first class hotel offering modern comfort while keeping the charm of an old beautiful house. grand_monarque28, Réceptionniste at Best Western Grand Monarque, responded to this review Dear Madam, Dear Sir, What a wonderfull comment, we are very glad to notice this very positiv feedback. We wish you a very pleasant day, Best regards La réception. Regarding the valet parking service, indeed, at the core of the city center, it is usually quite appreciated by our clients, and the cost (10 euros) includes the secured parking and the valet parking service. This 4-star hotel is 0.7 mi (1.2 km) from Fine Arts Museum of Chartres and 1.4 mi (2.2 km) from Church of Saint-Andre. We hope that you had time to discover our beautiful city and that you appreciated it as well as our different services. The location is perfect at the edge of chartres downtown, 5 mins walk from the cathedral and the new town with its shops, the old town with its old streets and bars/restarants in between. Would thoroughly recommend this treasure. Wish you a very nice evening Best regards La réception. Everything fresh. Recommended a nice place for dinner. We can recommend this hotel without hesitation. We booked car parking at 10 euro a night which is really excellent. Sincerely, Front desk team. Dans une ambiance des plus familiales où règnent en maîtres la convivialité et la simplicité, profitez d’un séjour inoubliable à Chartres.